Depending on the booking's payment policy this charge may be either of the following:
- A pre-authorization, which is a temporary hold on an amount to ensure your card is valid and has sufficient funds. The amount held is returned to your account immediately after it is pre-authorized. No additional fee or exchange rate applies in this practice.
- A pre-payment, which is required by some properties when you book. This is highlighted in your confirmation email. If you select free cancellation when placing your booking, this amount is returned to you when you cancel your booking.